This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp (Publication: January 5th 2016)

(Trigger Warning for School Shooting)

This Is Where It Ends

Summary:

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

GoodreadsBookDepository

No Spoilers: 

I’m honestly a sucker for books that feature darker topics, just because I like that they give you the raw truth about it.  Many people die in these sort of situations and not one of those should be overlooked.

This story is told from four different POV’s who all have a connection to the gunman.  This gives you the chance to experience the situation from a few different perspectives and see what they do about it.  The characters can all think of reasons why this could be their fault, failed romance, abusive life, true romance, and just pure hatred and protectiveness.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes High School dramas.  Sorry I can’t be more specific but I haven’t read any books like this one yet.

Spoilers Ahead!!:

Okay, so did anyone else get really freaked out when the y realized it was four POV’s and there  were four pieces of chalk on the cover?  because I did.  I was so scared that they would all die at the end!  ugh…

I started watching the Scream TV series a couple days before starting this book and I think that made me like it even more because I was in the High School drama mood.

I loved how all of the main characters were all connected together.   I mean I think its brilliant how Marieke did it, and that she included the lesbian couple and the disabled boy (sorry I read this a couple months ago and forgot everyone’s names).  It’s so raw and doesn’t filter anything for the reader and I admire that most about this story.  every one of the main characters was willing to put their lives on the line for anyone who was a potential victim.

I just realized that this review wasn’t even spoilery so sorry hehe.

Rating:

5star-Copy-630x280

5 Stars

Leave a Reply

