A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

(WARNING: Do not read the summary of this book if you have not read A Court of Thorns and Roses)

Summary:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

GoodreadsBookDepository

No Spoilers:

I have one thing to say and it is that if you haven’t yet picked up this book (I don’t see how you couldn’t have anyway) you need to continue with the story. I loved ACOTAR so so much and gave it a 5 out of 5 last year but I can honestly say that this book was 10 thousand times better. If you weren’t really hooked when you read the last book, you will for sure be sicked in as soon as you start ACOMAF.

The world building in this book is so deep and complex that I found myself falling in love with the courts and everything once again. You get to go so much further into the characters and their lives prior and during Amaranthia’s rule and truly understand them better that the last book. So much has changed and like me you will most likely be questioning your prior thoughts. I can’t wait for the next book and how everything is resolved and just how Sarah will once again give us the perfect book.

Spoilers Ahead!:

HOLY CRAP!! This book was crazy and I had so many different feelings throughout these 624 pages of pure amazing. I always take so much longer than necessary getting through Sarah’s books and honestly I think it’s because I physically can’t wait another year for the end. Seriously I can’t, it might kill me.

We met a bunch of amazing and lovable characters in this book including Mor, Cassian, Amren, and Azriel. These four warriors were welcoming to Feyre and were happy to make her part of their little broken family. The history of their friendships with Rhysand and each other were so interesting to read about and how they came to love each other really warmed my heart. Rhysand is my favorite character ever (excluding George Weasley). We learned soooo much about Rhys in this book, I really consider it to be his book honestly. We learned about his family, his history with Tamlin, his court, his childhood, everything there was to know and I loved all of it. When he told us at the end about how he had suspected the him and Feyre were mates before the series even started, everything started making sense and I fell in love with him even more than I already was. He revealed that he used to have visions through her eyes when she was still human and when he knew that she was in Parythian he had to protect her from Amaranthia. Suddenly every mean or seemingly evil thing he had done in the last book was justified because he did it all for her even though it killed him inside to see her with Tamlin. Lets talk about Tamlin and how much I utterly hate him shall we. When I started reading I was thinking Is this the same guy from the other book?? but as I kept reading I realised that he had changed a LOT since then. I think that knowing how Feyre had died under the mountain and was brought back made him extremely over protective. This however, was no reason to treat her like a dog. I remember feeling every drop of fear and anger that Feyre was feeling when he locked her inside that house. I was actually freaking out quite a bit. What also made me really angry about him was how he would dismiss everything she said when she was with Rhysand saying how she was just under the control of him. He never took her seriously when she said that she left of her own free will and never wanted to go back. I had a lot of respect for Lucien in that last book because of how understanding he was of Feyre and tried to help her every way he could. I lost all of that when he came after her at the camp. He was planning on taking her to the Spring Court against her will, and when he was shooting those nasty names at Rhys I lost it and all my respect for him. Tarquin was a good guy and I felt bad that his trust of them would be shattered after they stole the book, I just really hope they resolve this and create an alliance with the Summer Court. Feyre was annoying me a bit through this book and there was a couple occasions when I thought she was completely overreacting. When she found out that Rhys was her mate and that he hadn’t told her even though he had known basically since the beginning, she was absolutely livid. She even had Mor take her away for what I presume was a week while she figured out why he didn’t tell her.

Like I said before, the world building in this story was phenomenal and we learned so much about the Night Court, Velaris, and the Summer Court. The Night Court was so beautiful in my mind just he descriptions of there as well as Velaris made me really wish I was there. When Velaris was attacked my heart was breaking thinking of how this beautiful place was being destroyed and I was terrified. Velaris became home to Feyre and I was really happy when she said that because she never felt that the Spring Court was home to her and I was glad that she finally found somewhere that did. I don’t remember much about the Summer Court description but I kept imagining it as that one elf city in Lord of the Rings (it’s been a long time excuse my lack of knowledge). I loved the scenes in the temple when Amren and Feyre were getting the book and everything started filling up with water and going terribly wrong, then two sea creature things save them and I was suddenly really happy for Feyre’s human heart and that she help that sea creature at the beginning of the book.

I also loved that when Feyre was hiding away in the cabin, she painted all the walls with pictures of her friends. This made me really warm inside knowing how much she loved them and that she forgave Rhysand. OH LORD the sexual tension through this entire book was sky high and I know everyone was just holding their breath until something actually happened. There were a number of steamy scenes including at the Court of Nightmares when they were on display for the place to see. The most steamy ones though were in the cabin when Rhys finally came up to see her and damn were those some sex scenes.

The end of the story was a roller coaster for me. The entire time I was biting my tongue and hoping hoping hoping that that was not how the story was going to end. When the king brought in Feyre’s sisters my heart fell knowing how difficult it would be for her to get out of there. To keep it short, the king turns Elain and Nesta into fae as proof that it could be done by making them bathe in the cauldron. After Elain was successfully turned, I thought for sure that Nesta wasn’t going to make it and I was terrified. Luckily she did and she runs over to Elain pushing Lucien out of her way. We then learn that Lucien and Elain are mates which will make this next book all the more interesting. Feyre then has this plan to act as though she broke free of Rhysands control and go with Tamlin so that her sisters can be safe with her mate and friends. Feyre then goes back to the Spring Court with Tamlin and silently vows to destroy him from the inside. When Rhysand revealed that they had gotten married the night before the biggest sigh of relief came from me knowing that they had a plan and everything was semi resolved.

 I wish I had the energy to say more about this amazing book but what I can say is that I honestly can’t wait to see what Sarah had in store for us in this final book. So many things need to happen I would be completely okay with an 800 page book…please.

Rating:

5star-Copy-630x280

5 Stars

Favorite Quotes:

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

“When you spend so long trapped in darkness, Lucien, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.”

“And so Tamlin unwittingly led the High Lady of the Night Court into the heart of his territory.”

“There are good days and hard days for me—even now. Don’t let the hard days win.”

More Quotes

2 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: The Monthly WWR Digest (July 2016) | Weasleys Wizard Reads

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Books of 2016 | Weasleys Wizard Reads

Leave a Reply

