Pre-Release Thoughts: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Special Rehearsal Edition)

Photo Jul 26, 4 18 15 PM

(Disclaimer: Harry Potter is owned by Warner Bros, J.K. Rowling, Scholastic and all those wonderful people and I own nothing. Don’t sue me I love you.)

Oh the very very long awaited Harry Potter and the Cursed Child book is almost here. I don’t know about you but I have been waiting for this book since the play itself was announced because we all knew it was inevitable that it would be printed. I as a certified Potterhead, have done much research on this play and book. In this post I will be answering some questions people may have about this and just general news and excitement to my best ability. I am by no means an expert on this play or script but will be recounting information I have gathered from amazing sites such as Mugglenet, Pottermore, HarryPotterthePlay and Mugglecast. For more information about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, visit any one of these sites.

What is this?

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is a play that was written by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne. As far as I understand, after Tiffany and Thorne started the script, they approached J.K. Rowling after getting an okay from her, she helped from there on. I believe this book will be printed in play format and that may shock some mild Potter fans when they open it up. It has been marketed as the eighth Potter story and I’m not a very big fan of them doing so because I don’t know it just feels a little weird to me.

What is it about?

This is the summary from Goodreads:

29056083

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.

Okay since this summary really doesn’t give much to work with, I will tell you that after listening to spoilers of the play, this story will be original and quite the crazy ride. I’m excited to see how everything fits together and see more of my favorite characters once again in a canon story. Yea that didn’t say much either but I know no one wants spoilers.

When does it come out?

The Special Rehearsal Edition will be released July 31st, 2016 as tribute to the birthday of J.K. Rowling and Harry. I think another edition will be printed sometime in the future after the play has reached other countries.

There’s a play?

YES!! The play is now playing in London at the Palace Theatre and has some great reviews. Sadly, it is not yet in the US or anywhere else but J.K. has said that it will definitely make its way over sometime in the future.

The cast is amazing and from what I’ve heard, play the characters perfectly. Below are some pictures of the cast in costume and these are all from Pottermore. Click on the photos to learn more.

No Image  No Image
No Image

In the first picture we have Jamie Parker as Harry, Sam Clemmett as Albus Severus Potter, and Poppy Miller as Ginny. In my opinion, Poppy is the perfect Ginny and exactly how I would imagine her in later years. Just by looking at this picture you can tell kind of where the family lies based on the positioning of the actors

In the second picture we have Paul Thornley as Ron, Noma Dumezweni as Hermione, and Cherrelle Skeete as the lovely Rose. This has to be my favorite picture because not only do I LOVE the fact that Noma is the new Hermione but just the picture over all is so cute and it just looks like they’re a happy little family.

In the last picture we have Alex Price as Draco and Anthony Boyle as his son Scorpius. I actually really like how menacing Draco looks in this picture compared to Scorpius. By looking at this, I get a hint that like father like son isn’t a component in this play.

Release Parties?

There are so many release parties happening all over the US and I’m assuming everywhere. All Barnes & Noble‘s, Books-A-Million, and Half-Price Books will be hosting parties. Sadly, I live in one of those towns that doesn’t have any of these bookstores so I will not be attending which really sucks but I’ll be up all night reading this book. Mugglenet put together a great compilation of release parties happening in each state if you’d like to check it out here.



Random Thoughts

Overall, there are plenty of different opinions out there about the play and there are bound to be different opinions about the book. I personally have read all the spoilers out there for the play and am still so so excited to read the story. There is always the fear that my favorite characters won’t be the same characters I grew up loving and having as best friends. I don’t want to get my expectations too high but when we’re talking about Harry Potter, it’s hard to keep them low. Thanks for reading my Pre-Release Thoughts on The Cursed Child and I do have a couple questions if you’d like to have a discussion and make sure to check out those wonderful sites at the top for more information!

How excited are you for the book? What are you expecting? And do you think you’ll see the play someday?

Leave a Reply

