Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

29056083

summary
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

GoodreadsBookDepository

Photo Jul 28, 8 21 56 PM.jpg

Oh this book has been probably the most long awaited thing that any Harry Potter fan has waited for. Published almost 10 years after the conclusion to what has to be one of the most popular series ever, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child finally hits shelves and blows us all way. Now, a lot of things happen in this story and I felt that if it wasn’t restricted by time, a lot could have been more fleshed out and more explained. That aside, I did actually like that it was short enough not to wear you out after an hour or so and that there were no boring parts at all. Something was always happening.

We get to see our beloved Golden Trio once again and the thought of that just fills me with excitement and causes me to drown in my happy tears. You can definitely expect to see your loved characters acting like themselves and still being those that you loved years ago. I was scared that they would act completely different but that wasn’t the case. We also get to meet a few new characters including Albus Potter, Scorpius Malfoy, and Rose Granger-Weasley. It was easy to love these characters even through their ups and downs because you can still sympathize with their situations and choices they have to make.

This book did go surprising fast which is probably due to the play format but also like I said, there were no boring parts in this story and it really kept you pulled in. There’s also a lot of humor and some really fun and quirky jokes. I don’t want to risk saying anymore but all you need to know that even though there are some mixed reviews out there, it is still positively worth the read and I think anyone in the Potter fandom could find something or everything to love about this book.

Photo Jul 28, 8 22 19 PM.jpg

I loved this book I really did. There were plenty of times I cried just from nostalgia as well as some of those sad things that were said. Please excuse me if this review is just rambling and jumping around the book because I’m still just AAAAAHHH about it. The book itself is beautiful, I love the cover, the format, the back cover, oh and how under the dust jacket it still has that like half colored thing like the other books. Well that’s only on the American edition but OMG the UK one is beautiful and I might have to buy that one too. Anyway back to the story, I think it took me about four hours to read because I did have to put it down for a while through that time to cry.

Lets talk about characters first. I was so so so happy to read about Harry, Ron, and Hermione again and just seeing them all grown up was both sad and amazing. Once again, I am so happy that they are the same characters I grew up with but just more mature and grown. Ginny was never my favorite character in the books or movies but here we see her as a kick ass mom who is one of the most sensible of the characters. She really keeps Harry grounded through all the craziness in this book and I’m just glad she’s such and awesome character. Harry knows that he’s not doing the best he could at being a father to Albus but really does attempt. He said something in the story along the lines of not having a father to base himself off of and I do agree that that is part of the problem because really he looked up to Dumbledore as a father figure and still, he wasn’t that great either. Ron is still the jokey guy that we all love and I really love his relationship with Hermione and I’m really glad we got a lot of moments with them. Hermione is the freaking Minister of Magic and I was so happy when I heard this because she is great and I assume that she has made everything so much more organized and just a whole lot better than it ever was. Albus Potter was quite the angsty little child through this book and I found him to be incredibly annoying and didn’t think things out very well. He never really stopped to think about what he was about to do and dragged a lot of people down with him. I was kind of disappointed that Rose didn’t play as big of a part as I hoped she would. I really wish we got to see more of her but maybe in the future. Scorpius Malfoy was by far the best character we see in this story and I just loved him so much. Like Ginny, he was one of the only characters who actually had common sense and thought of the outcomes. Although he is loyal to Albus and couldn’t let him do all these stupid things by himself. I do wish that Albus would have just slowed down and actually thought about what he was about to do because a lot could have been solved by that.

So I feel like a lot of questions people had about Harry Potter were answered in this book including, what if Voldemort won? Where are the Time Turners? and Did Bellatrix and Voldemort do the dirty? I mean who didn’t have these questions floating in their heads for years?… Well regardless of if you did or not, they were answered for you. Now I read all the spoilers there were for the play and so I do think that I wasn’t as surprised by how things played out because of that. After reading those though, I thought this was going to be ridiculous and just J.K. Rowling’s own fanfiction. I was actually really surprised how much I enjoyed it though and I was satisfied how everything went with each other. I also thought that all the time travel would be confusing and hard to follow but I actually found it easy as long as you’re paying attention. One thing that I am really disappointed about was that Albus and Scorpius didn’t get together in the end. In my opinion, there was a perfect opportunity for them to be gay and the entire story really felt like it would end that way. Now I’m just going to list off the parts that made me cry the most as in sad tears. First, when Harry gave Albus his baby blanket which was the only thing Harry had from his mother and Albus just throws it like its nothing. I was this close to just hating him when that happened. Second, Harry said this heartbreaking line, The Boy Who Lived. How many people have to die for the Boy Who Lived? And yes my heart was shattered at this point. And lastly the third, Harry said that sometimes he wishes that Albus wasn’t his kid. Okay, when I read a spoiler that this happened I was so so sad and I couldn’t believe that Harry Potter, the boy who didn’t grow up with a real family, would say that to his own son. I know that Albus was being a little shit and was getting under Harry’s skin but my heart sank when I read that.

Towards the end when they’re all at Godric’s Hallow and Harry is pretending to be Voldemort to trick Delphi, I was thinking the whole time that the transfiguration wouldn’t work long enough. And what do you know, it doesn’t. But that’s okay because Albus comes out to help his dad fight her and oooooooh I loved that scene. You couldn’t help feeling bad for Delphi though because really she only wants to meet her father because she never had that chance and I feel that Harry sympathized with her in that too. But when Voldemort comes and Harry says that since he knows that he could stop this but also can’t because of the effect it would have, he was going to watch them die. Harry Potter gets to see what exactly went on that night and gets to hear their voices. I think that gave him a bit of closure to know how it went down and to know just how much his parents loved him.

At the very end we know how Harry has been carrying around the guilt of Cedric’s death for years and he brings Albus to the grave, it was just so heartwarming. We also learn that Harry is afraid of the dark and pigeons which also adds to the overall humor of this story. After finishing, I really was happy with how it turned out and I think I’m willing to accept it as cannon but a very loose cannon. I would LOVE to discuss this with you because I know I didn’t talk about some things so please leave a comment and again, sorry for the rambling!!

Photo Aug 02, 8 14 52 PM

Photo Aug 01, 4 58 43 PM

4.5 Stars

Photo Aug 04, 6 15 57 PM

“My geekness is a-quivering.”

“SCORPIUS: A doe? Lily’s Patronus. SNAPE: Strange, isn’t it? What comes from within.”

“In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.”

“The Boy Who Lived. How many people have to die for the Boy Who Lived?”

More Quotes

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

  1. Pingback: The Monthly WWR Digest (July 2016) | Weasleys Wizard Reads

Leave a Reply

