Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach – Non Spoiler Review

25532845

summary
“I’ve got some questions for you. Was this story written about me?”
I shrugged.
“Yes or no?”
I shrugged again, finally earning a little scowl, which somehow made the girl even more pretty. It brought a bloom to her pale cheeks and made sharp shelves of her cheekbones.
“It’s very rude not to answer simple questions,” she said.
I gestured for my journal, but she still wouldn’t give it to me. So I took out my pen and wrote I can’t on my palm.
Then, in tiny letters below it, I finished the thought: Now don’t you feel like a jerk?

Parker Santé hasn’t spoken a word in five years. While his classmates plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels, killing time by watching the guests. But when he meets a silver-haired girl named Zelda Toth, a girl who claims to be quite a bit older than she looks, he’ll discover there just might be a few things left worth living for.

GoodreadsBookDepository

Photo Jul 28, 8 21 56 PM

I just want to say that I enjoyed this book 10 times more than We All Looked Up and that’s saying something because I gave that a 4.5 stars. Okay so this is a story about a boy who enjoys stealing from people in hotels but one day while he’s scoping out the rich folk, he sees Zelda who is now determined to make his life better and worth living even if she can’t do so for herself. That wasn’t the best synopsis but I felt like the one up there didn’t really give you much.

First of all, I loved these characters a lot. They all had their own problems and actually acted like real people! I love when you can understand a character because they just seem so real and human, like someone you could run into on the street. Parker is a teenage boy and try and stay with me when I say that he’s a teenage boy who thinks like a teenage boy but also not like a teenage boy. That was terrible but I can’t figure out a way to describe him. Zelda is allegedly 246 years old and was born somewhere in Germany. She was such a great character and the mystery surrounding her made the book go by really fast.

Secondly, This story was just my cup of tea! It had a wonder sense, real characters, and an amazing plot. Tommy Wallach’s writing is so smooth and fun to read, you don’t want to put the book down and I rarely read a book in under three days. I loved everything about this book and I really would recommend it to fans of Magical Realism books like The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender but with more spunk and teenagerness.

Photo Aug 02, 8 14 52 PM

Photo Aug 01, 4 57 44 PM

5 Stars

Photo Aug 04, 6 15 57 PM

“Love is the exception to the law of diminishing returns.”

“I think that kids have a knack for detecting happiness, but they lose it as they get older. They have to. Otherwise they’d notice how unhappy everybody else is, and they’d never be able to be happy themselves.”

“there’s a word in Portuguese that my dad wrote about in one of his books: saudade. It’s the sadness you feel for something that isn’t gone yet, but will be. The sadness of lost causes. The sadness of being alive.”

More Quotes

Leave a Reply

