Bookish Talk: Reading Slumps

Photo Aug 17, 9 23 44 PM

We have all been in a reading slump one time or another. Being me and having the attention span I have, these happen quite frequently. I went a good 6 months only reading about four books that entire time because I became so focused on other things. School especially was a horror for my reading life and probably still will be when I go back at the end of the month *cries*.
I am currently in the middle of a reading slump as we speak and sometimes you have absolutely no idea where they even come from. This is really bad since it’s day four of #ReadThemAllThon and I haven’t even gotten to page 100 of my first book. Honestly, I don’t even know what I’ve been doing all week accept laundry and watching YouTube. The worst thing is that I feel like reading is a job now and I really hate that feeling. I love reading but when you feel like you have to do it, it becomes less and less enjoyable.

Photo Aug 17, 9 24 09 PM

Listen, I’m definitely not the best person to come to for advice on this I mean, 6 months. 6 months…
Regardless though, I have heard of many ways to overcome reading slumps and I do really think that they’re worth the try.

1. Just power through
I know when you’re in a reading slump, reading is one of the last things you feel like doing. But really, if you just keep reading until you find a book that really hooks you, you’re bound to get back into old habits.

2. Go watch that Netflix
This sounds seriously unproductive but hey if you finish that show you’ve been watching, maybe you’ll look back to books to fill that emptiness that seasonΒ finaleΒ left youΒ with. #MTVScreamRuinedMe

3. Read a short contemporary romance
You could be that person who says “Oh no I don’t enjoy cheesy romance at all” and listen, that’s fine but I think you’re lying. Everyone loves a good romance and who better to start with than Colleen Hoover?? Seriously though A+++++

4. Talk to other readers
BookTube, Bookstagram, and twitter are all amazing ways to talk to readers around the world and who knows, maybe they have the perfect solution to your slump.


I think it may be about time for me to follow my own advice and destroy this slump. Let me know your favorite way to get rid of a reading slump!!

Leave a Reply

