Stolen Songbird by Daniel L. Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy #1)

17926775summary
For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the mountain. When Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she realises that the trolls are relying on her to break the curse.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind: escape. But the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time…

But the more time she spends with the trolls, the more she understands their plight. There is a rebellion brewing. And she just might be the one the trolls were looking for…

GoodreadsBookDepository

Photo Jul 28, 8 21 56 PM.jpg

Okay, first of all I totally got talked into reading this book by of Kat over on YouTube because of how much she’s talked about it since she read it. She’s talked so highly of it that I just had to pick it up and let me just tell you, I am soooo happy I did. Honestly my expectations were really high for this book and every one of them were met. Okay, here are some of the big reasons I fell in love with this book.

     1. The World Building/Trollus

So, starting this book you’re really just as clueless about the Troll world as Cecile our main character which also means you get to learn everything along with her. I really love but also was really frustrated with how long it takes to get the full gist of the politics and specifics about everything but I think Daniel L. Jensen did a great job of always keeping you pulled in and wanting to know more.

     2. The Characters OF COURSE

I so rarely relate to a main character so much as I did Cecile. She was such a good main character who really acted as you’d expect someone who was kidnapped by trolls would but she also surprises you sometimes. She is pretty much fearless a lot of the time and I just loved that about her because she wasn’t afraid to ask questions and research things herself. Tristan is right up there with Rhysand on my bookish boyfriends list let me tell you. There were so many times where I started comparing him to Rhysand anyway because of the similarities in behavior and such and I just loved it. On goodreads and Instagram I kept saying how at the beginning it felt very much like a “Feyre throwing a shoe at Rhysand’s head” moment and it’s true! There are just so many great characters who you meet throughout the book and each one is as fascinating as the last.

      3. The amount of things that go on

This book was chuck full of events, it felt as if there were not a single page that wasn’t important and something wasn’t going on. There was absolutely no boring parts in the entire 469 pages I praise Daniel L. Jensen AGAIN for keeping me intrigued every second I was reading and even when I was away from my book I just wanted to be back in Trollus! While you’re reading you never even get the sense that things are moving too fast, I read the last 270 pages today and it really didn’t take much time at all.


But if this book sounds at all interesting to you I highly encourage you to pick it up as well as check out Kat’s YouTube because she has a bunch of videos dedicated to this series and they’re just wonderful!!

Photo Jul 28, 8 22 19 PM.jpg

OOOOOOH DEAR I haven’t had my heart broken this bad since reading Heartless by Marissa Meyer so you KNOW it hurt. I don’t even know where to start. Like I said before, Tristan gave off such Rhysand vibes for me which made me instantly fall in love with him and throughout the book he got better and better and more interesting I’m just in love. Like the first scene we see him in when the king brings in Cecile and he’s just being all passive and irritated, full on Rhys right there. It was obvious from the beginning that Tristan and Cecile were going to be endgame (I mean who else would it be?) but every time they had an argument or faked one I cringed because I just wanted them to be all cute because we all knew and they knew that they wanted each other. And that chapter from his point of view during that night when Cecile stepped on the glass and he was talking about how he stayed up all night worrying about her hurt foot and wondering if the room was too cold for her, it just warmed my heart a lot and just the progression of their relationship was fantastic.

Towards the end, every time he would say how badly he wanted her to stay and when she said she would and he just kept saying “How do I know you’re not lying” I wanted to punch him in the pretty face because we know how much she loved him and wanted to stay with him and just UUUUGH the anxiety in this book was CRAZY!! And that scene where he takes her down the River Road (probably what it was called) and at the end he just breaks down not wanting her to leave I was literally bawling my head off. I had just a slight moment of panic when she went out that she was totally gonna change her mind about staying but of course she wasn’t going to because that would have destroyed my trust in her.

I love the twins Victoria and Victor so much when they first meet Cecile because it was just such a wholesome moment that I think really brought the trolls into light for her and she realized that they really weren’t all bad. Also, Marc and his whole story about his wife and her disease and dying it was just so sad and I think that’s what the prequel novel is about?? I really don’t know but that was so heartbreaking as well. Another thing, did Anais die because I don’t remember it strictly saying she was dead. I guess I’ll find out in the next book but I never really liked her because I was too much of a Tristan X Cecile shipper.

Holy crap this book was jam packed full of events and everything, I was just thinking about it after I finished and I was like wow a LOT just happened. And the fact that I binge read the last 270 pages today probably didn’t help my emotional stability considering I was a mess afterwards. The part when she goes down into the mine to see what it’s like to be a half-blood miner was so stressful because I thought something REALLY bad was gonna happen and she was gonna get hurt but woo that just happened LATER. I’m still not okay. Let’s just talk about how awful and heartbreaking that ending was though. As soon as Tristan said that he was going with her when they were taking her to her grandmother, I knew there was just no way it was gonna work out. I was literally trying to think of any loophole to get past the curse then when he asked her to please forgive him I absolutely lost it. It also broke my heart when she tried going back but Christophe gave her the letter and AAAAAHHH I’m so emotional still.

This book was an absolute roller coaster of emotions and I loved every minute of it. I am so excited to be starting the second one tonight and hopefully finishing the trilogy before BooTube-a-thon! If you’ve read this book or the series please let me know your opinions on it and all the things you loved or didn’t love about this story! Thank you again to Daniel L. Jensen because this is definitely going to be one of my top books of 2017!

Photo Aug 02, 8 14 52 PM

Photo Aug 01, 4 57 44 PM
5 Stars

Photo Aug 04, 6 15 57 PM

“I cannot stop the world from moving. All I can do is be prepared for when it does.”

“Dying was and easy thing to accomplish, effortless in its agony. It was living that was hard, requiring endless toil and labor, and for all one’s efforts, it could be stolen in an instant.”

“They aren’t ugly.” I bit my lip, trying to find the right words. “more like beautiful things that have had the misfortune of being broken.”

More Quotes

2 thoughts on “Stolen Songbird by Daniel L. Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy #1)

  1. Pingback: Hidden Huntress by Daniel L. Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy #2) | Weasleys Wizard Reads

  2. Pingback: Warrior Witch by Daniel L. Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy #3) | Weasleys Wizard Reads

Leave a Reply

